2011 ASLI Choice Awards Winners

The seventh annual ASLI Choice Awards presentation took place in New Orleans, LA during the AMS 92nd Annual Meeting on Wed. Jan. 25, 2012 at 16:45 at the ASLI booth (#139) in the Exhibit Hall.

For ASLI’s Choice 2011, there are two awards selected from offerings by over 27 publishers; the main Science/Technology Category, and the History Category, as well as honorable mentions in each category – two in Science, and one in History.

The winners are…

2011 ASLI Choice:
SCIAMACHY: Exploring the Changing Earth’s Atmosphere
Edited by Manfred Gottwald and Heinrich Bovensmann
ISBN: 9789048198955 (print : acid-free paper)
ISBN: 9789048198962 (eBook)
ASLI’s Choice for its comprehensive summary of the milestone SCIAMACHY mission from its initial conception to most recent results.

2011 ASLI Choice: Historical Category
Early China Coast Meteorology: The Role of Hong Kong
P. Kevin MacKeown
Hong Kong University Press
ISBN: 9789888028856;
ISBN: 9888028855
ASLI’s Choice for its account of the scientists and science that comprise the history and accomplishments of the Hong Kong Observatory.

Honorable Mentions:

2011 Honorable Mentions – Science Category
Global Cryosphere: Past, Present and Future
Roger G. Barry and Thian Yew Gan
Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9780521769815 (hardback)
ISBN: 9780521156851 (pbk.)
Honorable mention for the depth and breadth of its coverage of the major aspects of the cryosphere.

Physics and chemistry of clouds
Dennis Lamb and Johannes Verlinde
Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9780521899109 (hardback)
ISBN: 0521899109 (hardback
Honorable mention for its data-rich, yet readable exploration of clouds across a range of scales.

2011 Honorable Mention – Historical Category
Warming Papers: The Scientific Foundation for the Climate Change Forecast
Edited by David Archer & Ray Pierrehumbert
ISBN: 9781405196161 (pbk.)
ISBN: 9781405196178 (hardcover)
Honorable mention for a compendium of the key scientific papers that undergird the global warming forecast.

Read the AMS Blog report on this year’s awards and winners.